Sort by:

Green Cross Global Reviews

Showing 3 star reviews : View all 6008 reviews

Jennifer S, 10 Oct 2019

I felt the trainer had very little knowledge about the subject matter, he was able to recite the information from the slides or the videos but could not explain content further than this. I felt his attitudes towrds people exeriencing mental illness was dismissive and belittling and some of the information he was delivering was simply incorrect. For example, he showed a complete misunderstanding of the concept of mindfulness and suggested that all you need to do to practice this is to take a break from your desk every twenty minutes. He likened the reason people self harm as the same he had two pizzas for dinner last night. He also used an example that was on a childrens television show where children are taught that Kim Kardashian is not a good role model as what people with eating disorders need to make them better. This displayed a total lack of awareness and understanding into the distress caused by these conditions. I found the exercise where people were to talk into each others ears to mimic hearing voices as insulting and making a mockery of a serious condition. The concept was sound, however all the comments on the script for the "voice" were mocking and childish and along the lines of "I like parsnips" which completely takes away from the persecutery and distressing nature of voices heard by people experiencing psychosis. i appreciate that this was a first aid course and the strategies delivered in the form of ALGEE were good, however the attempt to delve into serious mental health conditions was very poor.

6 people found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Lee C, 13 Sep 2019

Really should be issuing a book/course materials to aid the course on the day and for consolidation and reference going forward. First aid is the main aim of the course, ideal if it stays that way to focus on that ethos & the chief aims.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Michelle K, 12 Aug 2019

N/A

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Ellen K, 04 Jul 2019

I was firstly very unhappy about the late change of venue. This was a 30 minute drive to the other side of the city from the original venue. The venue that it was changed to was not adequate for the course material. We needed much more space than what was available to us. The course material was like watching hours of textbooks that have been put on power points. Not engaging. Nothing about them made me learn better or even pick up info at all. The course provider tried hard to account for this but it made the days very dull. The course instructor was informative however time schedule was not kept to and a bit sporadic. This could also have been sue to the material for learning provided by green cross as it DID NOT flow. Unless your a robot.
Response : Ellen, Thank you for your feedback, we always welcome ways to improve our courses. We apologise for the change of venue, this was out of our control. With regards to the presentation, to suit all learning differences we have to include all information on the screen. Thank you again for taking the time to feedback.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Kim R, 18 Jun 2019

The venue was filthy, stuffy and really unpleasent to be in. The language of some of the people attending was absolutly unacceptable

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Evie S, 01 May 2019

The MHFA manual is quite comprehensive. Content seems generic (and common sense) across disorders, conditions, illnesses. I enjoyed the course but felt it was difficult to engage with the facilitator who read from powerpoint slides. The most engaging courses have minimal content on slides while the facilitator provides original and insightful content without reading off slides! Everyone on the course felt the same as we discussed it. It felt like the slides replicated the manual - I could have read the manual without needing to attend the course, particularly a two-day course. I feel with original power point slides, the course would be condensed into one day (because the slides simply replicate the manual). The videos we watched were also outdated and stereotypical. More effort could be made into finding insightful videos for participants to watch. I also feel self-disclosure is useful when facilitating, yet I felt there was too much self-disclosure on behalf of the facilitator. I assessed this based on how relevant the self-disclosure was to the content - it made it very personal rather than general, that is, it was good to hear about the facilitator's experiences yet it pigeon-holed some of the content to her experience only... if that makes sense. Also, for £300 I feel lunch needed to be provided. The course could definitely be condensed into one day - there's no need to go through every single disorder/condition because most of the guidance is the same and common sense. I suggest picking out several key disorders (GAD, depression, eating disorders) and creating case studies around these, getting people to work in groups to go through ALGEE process. A lot more original thinking needs to go into designing this course.

2 people found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Vishal P, 01 May 2019

Course handbook and workbook- excellent Course power point- shockingly bad. Broke all the rules about what makes an effective slide deck. Far too much text which forced the trainer to talk through the slides a lot of the time. This meant most participants switched off.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Paul M, 07 Mar 2019

As a Lead IQA, Assessor, Trainer and Consultant in multiple H&S disciplines, as well as an ex ECA with East of England Ambulance Service NHS Trust, my feedback is being given based around my existing knowledge and experience as well as from the point of view of a customer. Firstly the facilities in which the course took place were absolutely fine. The Trainer was a personable and pleasant person, who remained completely professional throughout. He was never inappropriate and engaged the group fully, allowing time for delegates to add anything and to ask any questions they wanted- which were all answered fully. My concern was that the Trainer stated his laptop was not working so he could not use the course presentation. Whilst I am not a fan of Power Point reliance I believe it forms part of a structured course presentation and also forms part of a company's branding. The Trainer only used 'chat' and the flip chart, which I felt left a few areas of the course not covered as fully as they could have been. Added to this delegates being shown a short film on the Trainers mobile telephone does not show the company in a good light. Whilst this was my first experience of Green Cross Training I believe the company is a provider of quality training and, whilst I was a little disappointed in aspects of this course, it would not prevent me rebooking with the company. Paul Mullard TechIOSH Axis Safety
Response : Thank you for you comments. As an experienced trainer yourself I hope you can fully understand the frustration of having the computer not working. Being able to deliver to the learner in a visual, as well as a audible way is important and Daniel has shown great initiative by using flipchat to make the learning inclusive to all. As a company we were aware that his computer was not working from the trainer feedback and have monitored the course via our IQA processes.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

amy c, 28 Jan 2019

On 2 days the trainer was late, he also did not cover off the epi-pen. Colleagues believed that the recovery position should have also have been practised, which it was not. Not all colleagues got the chance to use the defibrillator and put pads on, they would have preferred to do this hands on. Course did not last the full duration of 9am-4pm for 3 days

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Vasnica S, 03 Dec 2018

-Kerry Forbes was amazing at emailing promptly with accurate information as well as being friendly. -Lack of communication between trainer and green cross training meant that we have a few emails going back and forth trying to sort out the timings after we already received a confirmation. -Some parts of the training weren't coherent, it felt rushed. Especially the time we got with the defibrillator.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]