Sort by:

The National Centre for Suicide Prevention Education & Training UK CIC Reviews

Showing 3 star reviews : View all 2634 reviews

Jayne F, 10 Feb 2021

Would have been good to make reference to the current climate during pandemic . Different ways we are working Thank you though thought provoking . Also thank you to your support sumreen

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Ellen G, 05 Feb 2021

I enjoyed the course however, I still feel a bit unsure of how to actually speak to someone in a dangerous situation. It would have been good to have more example conversations, perhaps more videos or role play. Although I appreciate this would be tough I think it would help build confidence and knowledge of how to actually be a suicide first aider. When we all had to 'ask the question' it would have been good if Tess had given each of us a different situation/scenario. It would have been a challenge but a good way to learn. Perhaps this could be done in breakrooms if people are nervous.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Ellen G, 05 Feb 2021

I enjoyed the course however, I still feel a bit unsure of how to actually speak to someone in a dangerous situation. It would have been good to have more example conversations, perhaps more videos or role play. Although I appreciate this would be tough I think it would help build confidence and knowledge of how to actually be a suicide first aider. When we all had to 'ask the question' it would have been good if Tess had given each of us a different situation/scenario. It would have been a challenge but a good way to learn. Perhaps this could be done in breakrooms if people are nervous.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Fleur B, 28 Jan 2021

Raising awareness function of the course was valuable

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Victoria E, 19 Jan 2021

This mornings session seemed slow, it is a heavy subject but some form of light heartedness would have kept everyone engaged. This afternoons session seemed very scripted and I will be honest, I got a little lost and started to switch off. I do however completely understand this is the first time for both Jess and Jo to do and being watched by an external trainer must have been very nerve racking. I found some of the content a little too heavy for my liking, my counselling background and my personal nature would be a little less heavy handed. I don't recall choosing to take this course, I was booked on by my manager.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Saloni S, 21 Dec 2020

I was expecting little better content and structure.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Mark C, 07 Dec 2020

I believe there was too much time spent on the background of suicide in the first session. I would have preferred more time on the second session and the strategies when helping someone with this need.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

tony r, 04 Dec 2020

Whilst I apprecaiet the subject matter was difficult, i found the flow of info and the 2 sessions rather slow and the adobe platform was poor. we all lost connection after connection and i didnt feel like it was that engaging. I think the contect could be covered in 1 4hr session rather than 2. that said, i ahve learnt a lot and found the exercises a first step into this tough 'taboo' like subject matter

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Chloe W, 26 Nov 2020

I felt that the end of the session was rushed and I felt this tainted the overall session. I would have preferred the session to be longer to ensure all the information was covered at the same pace and a Q+A at the end.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Anon A, 19 Nov 2020

We were not given the most updated version of the workbook so what we were doing was not matching up to what the trainer was discussing - this caused some confusion The video was good with Jonny Benjamin The training felt quite introductory - it was good for helping to spot signs of suicide but I don't feel that it gave many practical tools on how to follow up and effectively support people I wanted to know more about risk assessment and skills for that, especially how to support people on a remote basis during Covid-19 but this was not discussed - potentially I had misunderstood what the training was for. So overall I think the training was good but I maybe wanted something a little different out of it - but that's not the trainer/training's fault! Thanks

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]