Sort by:

The National Centre for Suicide Prevention Education & Training UK CIC Reviews

Showing 3 star reviews : View all 4983 reviews

Ryan T, 28 Jul 2021

Great insight however could be steered more towards an operational policing aspect. You can see the training is aimed at non policing staff as scenarios given are very basic in their nature and don’t really relate to live policing examples where this kind of fist aid would be required. Having said that, it’s useful as a building block to knowledge and understanding and I’m sure the learning can be translated to operational policing in some way.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

amy d, 22 Jul 2021

I have been a front line officers for years, dealing with mental health and suicide on a regular basis, on top of that I have been trained in mental health first aid. The objective of this course was to teach us to recognise signs of suicide and how to response, however I have been doing this for years. I have had numerous members of the public tell me they wish to end their life, I have talked people off bridges and been involved in numerous mental health incidents, I don't feel this course is appropriate for experienced police officers, as teaching us how to listen and talk to someone is pretty much what we do everyday. I feel this course would be perfect for new officers prior to deployment. The course content was good, the tutor was good, it just wasn't the right course for me.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Louise R, 27 Jun 2021

i think the the opportunity to do the whole 2 days maybe should have been offered as an option as it will be a part of the 2 days

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

liz r, 18 Jun 2021

It is essential that gambling related causes of suicide are taken into account The material is good apart from that but to take this forward this is essential

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Ram B, 13 Jun 2021

very good

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Kim G, 08 Jun 2021

Virtual training is always difficult and I felt for the trainers as its hard to get people to interact. Probably a better course when its face to face.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Rosa T, 02 Jun 2021

For me this was a useful refresher. I am ASIST trained and already had a level of understanding around the subject matter. However, if this had been my first experience of suicide first aid training I may have felt less less satisfied. I'm not sure how well suited it is to online delivery. I hope the face-to-face delivery option returns soon. It needed more space around and in the training - there's a lot to absorb. Simply ticking the box and moving on felt inappropriate at times.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Josh B, 07 May 2021

Training is good to build basic knowledge for dealing with people thinking of suicide

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Nik R, 04 May 2021

A really worthwhile course Virtually splitting into rooms was good Everyone asking the same question not very useful repetitive etc

1 person found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Nicola S, 23 Apr 2021

I feel this has been helpful and will use this information in my role.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]