Sort by:

The National Centre for Suicide Prevention Education & Training UK CIC Reviews

Showing 3 star reviews : View all 1442 reviews

David T, 25 Aug 2020

Difficult course to run on Zoom, I didn't think it worked well and was too directed and not interactive enough. Not user centred enough

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Alexander F, 19 Aug 2020

I feel that the information contained was good, however I feel that the course pushed a feeling of responsibility to intervene in other peoples lives and freedoms of choice. There was also overtones of that if you do not so this you have missed the chance to save their life and this is a bad thing.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Kate C, 13 Aug 2020

The training was good, i struggled with it being for 3 hours on zoom. Due to my length of time in a prison setting i found a lot of the training a repetition of what we already learn in prison training. Also found some of the 'correct' terminologies difficult as these have been said for years and personally can't see the issue with them.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

reece b, 31 Jul 2020

Good training and very useful, but for me who is a kinaesthetic learner, it was to tutor led. To get the best out of me and keep me fully engaged, I need to be involved and engaged. For me that part of it was lacking

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Mandy M, 23 Jul 2020

This did equip me with further ideas of how to approach the subject. However I was uncomfortable about approaching a young person or child with the question 'are you thinking about suicide'. On speaking to a colleague who is a secondary teacher, they said that they are taught never to ask a question like this so directly to a child. As a paramedic I can sometimes ask the question to a young person who has attempted it and its obvious but I probably wouldn't to one who had just say got drunk or feels depressed.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Liam J, 07 Jul 2020

I feel I can understand better the signs of suicidal thoughts and how to use correct terminology when speaking about Suicide.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Tracy M, 04 Feb 2020

I thought the content could have been covered in a morning or an afternoon, not enough useful content for a whole day.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Kirk C, 09 Dec 2019

What I was expecting from this course is to figure out the WHY. But it was more or less the same old stuff we have been doing for years in the Air Force. Maybe bring someone in who has thought about suicide. Let them tell their story and help us understand what they would like to see from the support side.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Charlotte H, 27 Nov 2019

I enjoyed the course although I think we may need to follow up by reviewing our own internal processes to make it clearer for front line staff

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Maram A, 10 Oct 2019

More practical techniques to be addressed will be more helpful

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]