Sort by:

The National Centre for Suicide Prevention Education & Training UK CIC Reviews

Showing 3 star reviews : View all 7806 reviews

tony r, 04 Dec 2020

Whilst I apprecaiet the subject matter was difficult, i found the flow of info and the 2 sessions rather slow and the adobe platform was poor. we all lost connection after connection and i didnt feel like it was that engaging. I think the contect could be covered in 1 4hr session rather than 2. that said, i ahve learnt a lot and found the exercises a first step into this tough 'taboo' like subject matter

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Chloe W, 26 Nov 2020

I felt that the end of the session was rushed and I felt this tainted the overall session. I would have preferred the session to be longer to ensure all the information was covered at the same pace and a Q+A at the end.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Anon A, 19 Nov 2020

We were not given the most updated version of the workbook so what we were doing was not matching up to what the trainer was discussing - this caused some confusion The video was good with Jonny Benjamin The training felt quite introductory - it was good for helping to spot signs of suicide but I don't feel that it gave many practical tools on how to follow up and effectively support people I wanted to know more about risk assessment and skills for that, especially how to support people on a remote basis during Covid-19 but this was not discussed - potentially I had misunderstood what the training was for. So overall I think the training was good but I maybe wanted something a little different out of it - but that's not the trainer/training's fault! Thanks

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Priscilla R, 18 Nov 2020

Well structured and well presented.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

C H, 13 Nov 2020

I felt the course was too long for the content. It would have benefitted from more interaction from delegates rather than just input from the trainer
Response : Hi Carey thank you for taking the time out of a busy working week to feedback. A full day course can seem quite long thats why I gave you all extended breaks and an hour for lunch ~ I hoped this would break up the allocated contact hours for SFA. The virtual classroom has its limitations and can impact on free flowing discussion ... to try to counterbalance I try to maximise the chat rooms ~ candidate chat facility ~ feedback from each exercise and pick up when candidates had a Q ... I'm sorry that the course fell below your expectations and I have absorbed your feedback. Keep up your excellent work in the community Kind Regards Christine

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Andrea R, 27 Oct 2020

Materials were limited .Would have liked more practical exercises to demonstrate understanding. However it has given me the confidence and ability to be able to identify some one having suicidal thoughts and have confidence in having this conversation

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

David T, 25 Aug 2020

Difficult course to run on Zoom, I didn't think it worked well and was too directed and not interactive enough. Not user centred enough

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Alexander F, 19 Aug 2020

I feel that the information contained was good, however I feel that the course pushed a feeling of responsibility to intervene in other peoples lives and freedoms of choice. There was also overtones of that if you do not so this you have missed the chance to save their life and this is a bad thing.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Kate C, 13 Aug 2020

The training was good, i struggled with it being for 3 hours on zoom. Due to my length of time in a prison setting i found a lot of the training a repetition of what we already learn in prison training. Also found some of the 'correct' terminologies difficult as these have been said for years and personally can't see the issue with them.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

reece b, 31 Jul 2020

Good training and very useful, but for me who is a kinaesthetic learner, it was to tutor led. To get the best out of me and keep me fully engaged, I need to be involved and engaged. For me that part of it was lacking

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]