Sort by:

MIS Training Institute Reviews

Showing 4 star reviews : View all 686 reviews

Nick N, 26 May 2020

I thought the course was good, but time was not managed well at times.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Meridith F, 21 May 2020

Up to date info.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Cory L, 21 May 2020

Some of the items that are not IT auditing specific at the beginning I would drop. Misti has a tendency to be redundant in a lot of their courses, focusing on entry-level auditing in all of there class. yes this can be covered but cover it faster. Shouldn't take a day of class. I don't think this is an instructor issue as it is in all of the MISTI classes. that time could have been used to cover the last two sections in more depth rather than rushed.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Christina L, 20 May 2020

With a title like "Cybersecurity Audit School" I was under the impression that it would be more focused on the auditing aspects of cybersecurity, instead of building a program and then where Audit fits in. Seems like the course "Auditing a Cybersecurity Program" may have been more along the lines of my expectations. It was still a great class with alot of great takeaways so I was pleased in the end, just not exactly what I expected walking in.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Terry G, 15 May 2020

I was looking for a little more real-world experience, and less theories & stories about businesses the instructor has worked in. It's great to see graphs which tell a picture, but how to create the graph from the data is more what I was looking for.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Brady M, 15 May 2020

The course and instructor were great. The medium (Zoom) was problematic as audio from the instructor was intermittent which, at times, made it extremely difficult to understand the material being discussed. Based on bandwidth measures that could be seen on Zoom, it appeared that the instructor had poor bandwidth which resulted in the poor audio and video. I would recommend testing instructors' connections prior to moving forward with a course over Zoom to ensure they have sufficient bandwidth to provide a seamless learning experience.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Tisha T, 14 May 2020

The class kept me engaged. I appreciated the instructors personal experiences.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Amber A, 30 Apr 2020

Did not have the right course materials to follow along until the 3rd day. The Financial Statement section felt very rushed, which was a portion of interest. Would have preferred to move at a more steady pace.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Skylar C, 29 Apr 2020

I think the course went well. There were some technical issues, but this was Martin's first digital presentation, so some were expected. Even given the glitches, Martin was able to cover all the items stated in agenda. Some topics were covered lightly and others in more depth. It might be helpful on the agenda to put how much we will cover for each item. That way trainees can ensure this is hitting their expectations. I gave the use of visual aids and the course content/materials lower because I feel the course can be more interactive and have some more visual aids (i.e., videos) rather than just be a 800+ page pdf. I feel this will get more people involved because I noticed a number of students were checking out as I noted on several occasions that students fell asleep or disappeared. It is a difficult balance because some students are just attending for the CPE while other are attending for the learning aspect of the training. I think Martin did well to ask if we have questions often and to teach the material. Where possible he did try to add humor into the course and grasp the attention of those involved. There is also quite a bit of detail covered in this training, I feel the training could be taught over 4 or 5 days rather than 3. This will allow the students more time to process and learn information. Or as another option, I think it would be good to give students some precourse work to perform. I understand this is an intermediate class, but some specific prep would be helpful. As it relates to the online course, I noted the course required video, which was explained was for audit purposes. While I think this is beneifical, I noticed there was a student who never showed video. It was brought up the first day and then not brought up again. If it is required for audit purposes I feel all students should be required to have the video. If we only need it for part of the time then I think it would be good to allow students to turn off their feed. I noticed a number of feeds where kids would come in to the frame, spouses, cats, dogs, and other items that were distracting. I feel the number of cases like this would decrease if video was just required at certian times i.e., first hour, last hour, or when communicating vocally to the class. These are just my thoughts so take them how you will. I hope they help out. Thank you for the opportunity of allowing me to take this course.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Brie-anne D, 29 Apr 2020

I like the in class presentations, however I enjoyed the zoom opportunity during this epidemic. Which still allowed us to complete the program. Thank you

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]