Sort by:

Mental Health In The Workplace Reviews

Showing 3 star reviews : View all 738 reviews

Jo R, 10 Dec 2020

Some useful tools, thanks.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Agnese W, 01 Dec 2020

Emma is very knowledgeable and it came across during the training session. Emma made the session interesting. I understand why there were no activities as session was only two hours long but it would have been nice to have an opportunity to discuss some of the points with the group or part of the group to share views. Overall good session but not very interactive.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

eileen y, 26 Nov 2020

I found the overall content helpful as reminder in summary of the issues of mental health - good and ill health and the science of the brain function and responses. Some good ideas for every day mental health care and a good pace maintained Liked the Yin/Yang analogy The polar bear analogy was somewhat laboured and I would have preferred a more real life example to relate to The presenters it appeared were reading from a script - less noticeable with Emma - at times this made for a monotonous tone I appreciate that virtual not so interactive or opportunity for expansion or ad lib Given this was about mental health in the workplace - I had expected some more content relevant to the workplace and in today's climate - the real life stressors of the external pressures - workloads, resource and funding, staffing levels, isolation from prolonged working from home, fears and anxiety re Covid19

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Ian M, 25 Nov 2020

I enjoyed it, and definitely took something away (I'm doing the write one positive thing a day) but was hoping for something more tailored to the role of Councillors and working within the Council. Also as someone else mentioned I didn't really get much about how to look after other people's mental health.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Mark H, 31 Oct 2020

I have worked in the Mental Health sector for the last twenty plus years. Although the course content was great for me you lost many of the participates who were texting me to say so. It was too much theory and not enough, helping people. I suppose they were looking for Mental Health First Aid. I would suggest the course content should be identifying and supporting people with Mental Health issues, and more upon maintaining your own good mental health
Response : Thank you Mark for the feedback. We do provide Mental Health First Aid training, which is a two day course and covers how to support people with mental health challenges on a first aid basis. This workshop is a 2.5 hour raising awareness course, which as we explained is a condensed version of our half day awareness course, created specifically for an online setting. We apologise if the course description did not make that clear. From some of the feedback we received, it does appear that many of the participants of this particular session took something useful away. We hope to be able to offer MHFA training once it is safe to be back in a face to face training environment.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Jacqueline G, 17 Sep 2020

The course was interesting and the trainers were very good. I didn't necessarily agree with the final comment that the control over the stressors lie with us which is not necessarily correct

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Kirsty S, 11 Sep 2020

Good information, wish there was more interactive parts where we could talk and share. Felt like trainers were reading for a script which was hard to keep concentrated. Really liked the information on hormones and how to use them to our advantage to support our mental health. I’ve come away with a good plan to increase my positivity and decrease my stress.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

janet h, 03 Sep 2020

took too long to get into the course - rather slow delivery at times

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Sarah W, 21 Aug 2020

I thought both facilitators were engaging and knowledgeable. I think I perhaps review from a different perspective as have both hidden disabilities and physical disabilities, also a life limiting illness and also a parent of a child with diagnosed ASD ,OCD and depression. Therefore some areas about what 'looks normal' I think can be misleading as I never assume as anyone looks a certain way they don't have either physical or mental health challenges. Also when looking at when there are diagnosis for somethin such as ASD/ Aspergers this can really impact a lot of the areas you were talking about - eg ability to interact with others. I know this course was not designed in that way however I feel there are a wealth of people who would not fit a lot of the examples given. Just a thought that perhaps a mention of hidden disabilities or things like Autism/Aspergers etc and how this may impact would be of value. Also the direct impact of COVID - so many of the things you discussed helping - exercise, health, food choices, interacting with others etc - these are so hard to do. Also the cyclical nature - over weight can effect the chemicals you were talking about, which in turn can lead to seeking comfort in food and self-isolating - which then becomes a cycle etc.. I did enjoy and thank you for the time in this
Response : Thank you so much Sarah for your thoughtful review and insight. What you say is very valid and we do have more time available to talk about exceptions in our full half day workshop. As we explained at the start, this online version is a condensed version and so naturally we are restricted on time. You'll be pleased to know that we offer nutrition and movement short courses which address your latter points. We really appreciate your feedback, thank you!

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Polly D, 11 Aug 2020

This would have been so much better face to face to share experiences and to be able to question as the course went on. Perhaps more time spent on work place and action planning at the end would have been good so that could reflect when learning was fresh.
Response : Thank you for your feedback Polly. As we explained at the start of the workshop, this online course is a condensed version of the full half day face-to-face course and so naturally, that means that we were restricted on time. The good news is that the full half day course will be available to you once we are able to meet face to face again and this will allow for much more open dialogue and time for reflection and planning. I hope you'll manage to book onto one of those once they are available, :)

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]