Sort by:

Watson Martin Reviews

Showing 3 star reviews : View all 696 reviews

Louis B, 16 Jan 2021

Trainer's knowledge of the topic in general seemed to be good, however their ability to explain things and put things into context was lacking slightly for me. I would have expected the trainer to have had better understanding of the key topics of the case study, which unfortunately wasn't the case. The structure of the session was useful, with candidates being split into groups to discuss how they would approach exam questions etc. However, in some instances we the breakout sessions were far too long (45 minutes), which wasted time.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Catherine W, 17 Nov 2020

Satisfied with WM overall, but administrative procedures sometimes let the level of service down. Some of the webinars were not to a high standard, but this was partly to be expected due to the move away from physical workshops. Tutors were overall very knowlegable and provided excellent guidance, but for me personally I felt that having one tutor, then a different tutor - and then back to the first tutor for a time - could have been diruptive and for some may have impacted work negatively. This was out of anyone's control, but WM could consider the number of students that each tutor has and whether this is manageable - especially when many of the tutors work part time.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Janet M, 01 Oct 2020

I was frustrated with the course over all. The only time I enjoyed was the time with Dee who was knowledgeable and really helpful. Other trainers were awful, never available and always got an out of office. An example would be submitting an assignment getting feedback from the trainer, when submitting for final mark I was told I had missed a section. Had I of been told this originally I could of corrected it. I then ran out of time. We have since put a number of people in my team through for their diploma but have ensured we use an alternative provider. I feel that my outcome would of been much better had I had Dee for the duration
Response : Thank you for taking the time to comment on Coursecheck. Our advisers are renowned for their expertise and the high standard of tuition they provide so we are disappointed we didn’t match up to your expectations this time. From our records, I note that you started with us in 2015 and have had some breaks in your studies. This might have contributed to the lack of support you felt you received. However, I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with Dee and found her knowledge helpful. We take all feedback very seriously as it helps us to ensure our programmes maintain a high standard and I have passed your comments to the head of our delivery team. Congratulations on achieving your CIPD qualification and all the best for your future career.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Laura D, 08 Jul 2020

I struggled a little with the virtual format of the course; it wasn't always easy to follow and trying to be interactive was difficult. Maybe a longer dedicated session with a break would be better - perhaps allow 4/4.5 hours with a 15 minute break, so there's contingency time for connection issues, introductions, questions etc.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Lizzie B, 14 May 2020

Content didn’t really match the specifications, and it’s often really difficult to find academic articles without various subscriptions. Would be helpful if WM could make access to these a bit easier.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Simon W, 07 Apr 2020

Overall a worthwhile course, materials however were sometimes difficult to navigate as were the resources available. Also found the website cumbersome and awkward to navigate.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Katrina A, 07 Aug 2019

London

Unfortunately the slides that I brought with me were the wrong ones, even though I had queries this with my assessor the day before.
Response : Thank you for your feedback Katrina and apologies for what appears to have been a misunderstanding about the slides. Please mention this to your personal tutor to avoid this happening again. Best of luck with your programme.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Danielle E, 02 Apr 2019

I had a few troubles with the content and materials being incorrect at the start of my qualification, especially where links had not been updated. There was also a module that did not have a relevant level workbook towards the end of my qualification, although luckily when I called to discuss this I was pointed to a very helpful ebook by one of your employees. I found a lot of the content interesting and applicable to my work, but I think this could have been delivered in a far more engaging way.
Response : Thank you for your feedback Danielle. I was surprised to read your comments about the VLE as the majority of our candidates find it very useful. However, it is a constantly evolving resource and keeping it up to date is a major task, particularly when links to external references change without our knowledge! We take all feedback very seriously at Watson Martin and I have passed on your comments to our Head of Delivery. Congratulations on achieving your Intermediate qualification.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Natasha G, 06 Feb 2019

The self-learning element of the course is very difficult for kinaesthetic learners. It would be helpful to have more video / youtube links, and seminars or webinars to support the learning (even if these are pre-recorded).
Response : Thank you for your comments Natasha. We take all feedback on board particularly when improving our VLE content. Congratulations on achieving your Advanced qualification.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Rhea M, 12 Dec 2018

Lack or resources on the VLE for some units and/or not accessible - i.e. broken links to videos etc. Quite a long term around time for the marking of some assignments and feedback reports not provided for some units until the end of the course! Feedback was at times unclear form the assessor - i.e. what content within assignments needed to be amended and what feedback was given just as an advisory. Louise was knowledgeable and when we spoke helpful in pointing me to further resources when I required more than were available on the VLE. Overall satisfied with the course and tutor - however definitely some areas for improvement.
Response : Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that overall you were satisfied with the course and the tutor. I was surprised to read your comments about the VLE as the majority of our candidates find it very useful. However, it is a constantly evolving resource and keeping it up to date is a major task, particularly when links to external references change without our knowledge! We are currently reviewing all the links to ensure they are correct. Congratulations on achieving your qualification.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]