Sort by:

CeMAP® - Certificate in Mortgage Advice & Practice Reviews

Showing 3 star reviews : View all 718 reviews

Chris M, 19 Feb 2019

Edinburgh

Jennifer M, 05 Jul 2018

Bristol

The trainer spent the week as a majority just reading the book out loud. There were a couple demonstrations on a white board but more could have been done. There was a screen behind him that was completely unused, a powerpoint or something would have really aided learning. We only spent one day covering unit 2 which was not sufficient. He did not show us any content from the book, instead we spent the entire day only going through 100 questions from mock tests. We were told that a third of these 100 questions could come up on the real exam. All of us students spoke of our dissatisfaction as this as what about the other two thirds? We hadn't touched any course material for unit 2. We were all upset about unit 2 and felt it hadn't been taught to us well at all.
Response from course provider : Hi Jennifer, I am sorry to hear that you are not fully satisfied with the course you attended, and thank you for providing valuable feedback. Our records show you have attended a course hosted by one of our most experienced tutors whom since 1999 has helped over 2000 students achieve CeMAP status. Although you are correct that course material is used extensively regrettably you have failed to mention the many real life and examination scenarios this tutor provides to help candidates with understanding the syllabus. Our aim is to always provide our students with the best possible learning experience, including tuition, course materials, and study environment. I would like to point out that you are still within the Terms & Conditions timeframe to reattend the course free of charge under our Pass Assurance Scheme, so if you would like to arrange this, please do contact our support team who will be only too happy to assist.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Rishi C, 14 Feb 2018

London

I’ve requested additional materials being a customer but was rejected by simply unless I booked another course
Response from course provider : Dear Ms Chandi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. In response our records show to date you have only enrolled onto our CeMAP 2&3 programme and in turn been provided with all the tools and resources in order to pass the subsequent exams. Should you require additional materials for CeMAP 1 please note you will need to enrol onto this programme to access further support relating to this module of study. Should you have any further queries please do feel free to contact us.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Alix B, 23 Oct 2017

Birmingham

I feel really disappointed with how this course went when compared to the CeMAP 2&3 course I took a couple of weeks before. The teaching styles were so different I was left completely baffled on what I should be doing and what I should be focussed on. The first course (2&3) was via PowerPoint presentation with slides to write down to focus on those specific areas. The second was just reading through the textbook. It has not left me feeling confident and as I sit here now trying to revise I feel no better off than if I was to have Home studied. This is not a criticism of Paul who was lovely and extremely knowledgeable but a frustration that a course within the same company can vary so dramatically that it leaves me potentially not passing me exam. Why there isn’t a uniform approach to the courses you provide? It makes me feel that simply are nothing more than a middle man.
Response from course provider : Dear Alix Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our records show you chose to attend a CM1 workshop in Birmingham & CM2&3 workshop in London hence why your tuition was delivered by 2 tutors. To clarify Simply Academy tutors are carefully selected and amongst the most knowledgeable in the industry. All tutors are fully qualified and are backed by years of practical experience our Teacher Development Program ensures the highest standards are offered with every course. Although I appreciate each tutor has a unique delivery style to ensure continuity we do deliver the CeMAP programme with the same material across all venues. Please note your booking is backed by our Pass Assurance scheme therefore should you require any further support post course please do feel free to get in touch with your course advisor whom will be happy to assist further. Best Wishes

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Eleanor S, 17 Jan 2017

Birmingham

I thought a substantial amount was repeated from level one and I did not feel the need to spend so much time repeating the same thing. It would have been far more useful to spend time on the new stuff. It's expensive to take the course and I felt at least two of the days I didn't need. Paul is an excellent trainer. I think it's simply academy that need to review the content. I also don't think you should be able to take 2 & 3 before 1 because it slows progress for those like myself that had already done cemap 1

1 person found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

simon d, 20 Sep 2016

Birmingham

Building works going on during the course very off putting.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

SJ M, 21 Mar 2016

London

There were times when the topics discussed were not relevant to mortgages and more relevant to providing financial advice. Often it was required that we would just accept things were as they were instead of having an explanation. There were also times when questions outside of strict course content would not be discussed. Sometimes it can be helpful for candidates to obtain that broader understanding in order to grasp the concept at hand. At times the jokes were inappropriate.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Lynette E, 03 Aug 2015

Bristol

Having already sat the CeMAP 2&3 course with Alan downing I was very disappointed with this one. I am not at all confident that I will pass the exam. I felt that David did not have control of the students & often struggled to keep the discussion to the level of the course & the course content. He was not as informative as Alan Downing on how to sit exams & the exam technique itself. Having already sat the course for CeMAP 2&3 some of the content was the same & David failed to point out key points that come up in questions time & time again. At the start of the week myself & other students struggled massively to keep up with him because he flitted from subject to subject without warning & we would be mixing up information as he wasn't clear what he was talking about, he also mis understood students questions the majority of the time so a simple question took a lot longer to answer. He also flitted back & forward through the pages of the book with no warning so we couldn't even find the relevant subject. Although he got better on Wednesday & Thursday I already felt behind & feel that most of my learning has been done in my own study time & if I do manage to pass CeMAP 1 it will be due to my own hard work & information carried forward from Alan's course.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Ellie L, 01 May 2015

Bristol