Sort by:

The Marlow Language Centre Reviews

June R, 24 Nov 2022

Marlow

During my initial meeting with Maxime, he obviously assessed my level and ability and I told him about my weaknesses, namely coping with the various tenses and, in particular, having the confidence to use them correctly in conversation. I feel that Maxime has completely understood what I need to get out of these lessons and I feel that, week by week, the lessons have been tailor-made for me. I have thoroughly enjoyed the lessons so far and am looking forward to continuing with them.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Becky S, 15 Sep 2022

Maya is an excellent teacher and I have already learned quite a lot in my first 12 lessons. I'm looking forward to more lessons in the future! I have recommended Marlow Language Centre already to a few friends who are looking to improve their language skills.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Brian C, 14 Jul 2022

Carmen is an excellent and enthusiastic teacher and very good at explaining some of the intricacies of the Spanish language.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Brian C, 14 Jul 2022

Andreia is an excellent teacher, very easy to talk to which puts the student at ease and able to relax and enjoy the class.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Anne R, 09 May 2022

Victoria is an excellent teacher - she is brilliant at perceiving when to move deeper and also when to take a step back and review. She is also great at customising lessons and learning to suit individuals and I would highly recommend her.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Amar L, 08 May 2022

Marlow

I could not more highly recommend Marion and The Marlow Language Centre. I opted for 1:1 teaching, twice a week, to learn German for use in business. Marion splits each lesson by first teaching core grammatical concepts, and then reinforces these concepts with the use of the language in a business context. There is constant progression, with the use of two textbooks (for grammar and for practical use). The approach has been incredibly useful in ensuring that I have the ability to use the language outside of the classroom — grammatical concepts are constantly reinforced, rather than taught and forgotten. In practice, having been learning German for 6 months, I have been able to better communicate with the German counterpart of my company. E-Mail communication with the branch is now in German, and I am able to discuss all matters of business activity including logistics (e.g. raising orders, asking for expedited deliveries) and financing (e.g. discussing changes in prices on invoices). Communicating in German, their native language, has resulted in the development of a stronger working relationship. Marion's teaching style places a strong emphasis on speaking — in the lessons, this is always challenging, but it forces understanding of the concepts and with Marion's kind nature is never intimidating. Marion always clearly communicates the pitfalls that English speakers fall into, and provides regular insights into German culture as well.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Rebecca J, 19 Apr 2022

Brilliant teacher and learning lots!

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

David S, 28 Mar 2022

I find it very useful to have the sessions focused on talking Spanish as this is my weakest point. It would be good to have some written/grammar exercises as well. One suggestion would be to work on exercises in the course book on our own. No need for marking but helpful to be pointed in the right direction with suggestions for exercises

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Sian F, 23 Jan 2022

I have made great progress in French with Vanessa. Not only do I feel better informed about the French language and culture. Most importantly I now feel able to speak confidently, which was my goal. I will miss the classes, which were always fun. Many thanks Vanessa.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

David B, 07 Dec 2021

Learning to improve a language with an enthusiastic and engaging teacher makes not only the language, but the french culture come to life. When learning is enjoyable, it's motivating and successful. Thanks to Jean Michel and team for your teaching.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]