Sort by:

The Marlow Language Centre Reviews

Showing 4 star reviews : View all 105 reviews

David S, 28 Mar 2022

I find it very useful to have the sessions focused on talking Spanish as this is my weakest point. It would be good to have some written/grammar exercises as well. One suggestion would be to work on exercises in the course book on our own. No need for marking but helpful to be pointed in the right direction with suggestions for exercises

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Clare W, 01 Apr 2021

I've struggled to know what material to look at when and how to get it. It would be really helpful to clearly share the links to where we can access it online and where we can buy it with all of the group. Paola's teaching style is really excellent and she has made us into a nice friendly group.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Margaret T, 31 Mar 2021

I love the course and Paola is a brilliant teacher. The circumstances are not ideal and sometimes there are technical difficulties. The material is ok but sometimes hard to understand instructions for the exercises as all in Italian. Maybe easier if instructions were in English

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Julia W, 25 Mar 2021

Very pleasing that the class can be done in 2 sessions rather than 1 & during the day. Course material is good.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Dorothy O, 23 Mar 2021

I have found the course to be most enjoyable and informative. I wish I had started sooner, but the online format works well for me as I cannot travel to the school. It is a friendly and inclusive group and Jean-Michel has given me the confidence to continue learning.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Madhuri B, 10 Mar 2021

I am very pleased that I chose this course. I am particularly pleased with my course teacher Vanessa who is such a great teacher. She has been so kind, patient and understanding with a beginner like me. If I decide to do more courses with the school I would definitely choose Vanessa to be my teacher again. She is most certainly an asset to your school.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Annie H, 30 Sep 2020

Marlow

The class size has diminished over the year due to other commitments and also changes in business due to COVID. This has meant some changes in approach but Paola has used games, quizzes, recipes and other source material to keep the course lively. I feel I have made good progress my my Italian learning as a result .

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Peter L, 04 Aug 2020

Marlow

I have just completed 8 weeks French tuition with Vanessa Francesconi, via an offer available through the Civil Service sports/social club. Vanessa tailored the course perfectly, striking the right balance for the 2 of us who were revisiting learning a foreign language after many years (more so in my case) away from a classroom. I thoroughly enjoyed our on line sessions and appreciated her patience when we were trying to remember things learnt long ago, as well as things forgotten in less than a couple of weeks. I extended my initial 6 weeks and was grateful Vanessa was willing to continue on a 1 to 1 basis for the extra 2 weeks. Her time living in France gave an extra dimension to the lessons and certainly added to the learning experience for me. Work permitting, I am hoping to enrol for a further course later in the year. I would be grateful if you could pass on my comments and record them in some way, so as to showcase the talents of this lady, who is undoubtedly an asset to your company. Many thanks, Pete L

2 people found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Tim F, 10 Jun 2020

Paola is a dedicated and enthusiastic Italian. Although teaching is not her first profession she is very patient and competent as a tutor. It is a pity that our little on-line course will last for only six weeks as I feel we would be able to learn so much more from her and master a reasonable level of speaking, reading and writing Italian in her care. Like other reviewers, I very much like that Paola introduces aspects of Italian culture and la cucina into her lessons to breath life into the formal mechanics of learning her first language. I hope to be able to speak Italian at least as well as she speaks English. This course is a good start...

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Sarah W, 10 Jun 2020

I have had weekly lessons with Paola since January as part of a group and with one other student. Each week we follow a text book, which is quite challenging and focus on grammar, the basics and roots of the Italian language. The emphasis is on giving us a strong understanding of the language, to build on, rather than sentences for holiday chit chat. Paola is very patient, with a great sense of humour and passionate about passing on her culture and language. Some self study and revision during the week is recommended and definitely helps to aid understanding and progress. I will definitely continue with these lessons for some time.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]