Sort by:

Five Conversations Styles© Programme Reviews

Showing 4 star reviews : View all 50 reviews

Matthew M, 20 Feb 2024

First, I like Jeff, I think he's a good man and he seems dedicated to the cause, which is good. Second, great to discuss stuff with my colleagues (we rarely do). Third, while I've said in the past that I've already internalised all the different conversation styles, there's no harm in reappraising them once in a while. Four, the whole thing was a welcomed distraction (it was good to change tack away from my usual schedule, which I know and love, but mixing things up once in a while is good for the soul). Five, I'd imagine that sales staff get something completely different out of the course than editorial people as they are 'out there' selling whereas I'm out there interviewing, which, as I said during the course, is a different dynamic. Interviewing senior level steel executives with a view to trying to understand a process or whatever is totally different from selling advertising space or an exhibition stand. All journalists have their own interview styles. In the round, I'd imagine the course is more geared towards sales people than editorial people.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Paul S, 19 Jan 2024

It was a shame there were only 3 of us on it. As mentioned previously, don't read anything into the recommend score. It's just not something I do.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Paul S, 19 Jan 2024

The program was too disjointed. It took nearly four months to complete. I'm not after any medals, but I was the only person out of six that attended every session. Other colleagues had other commitments and some missed half the program, which to me was a waste of time. I felt at times it was too easy for some to pull the plug and not attend and that diluted the overall objective. I felt sorry for Jeff, who did his best in difficult circumstances.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Matthew M, 03 Nov 2023

I enjoy the course a lot, especially the chat with the host and the other participants.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Nadine B, 23 Oct 2023

I have really enjoyed the course and found it very useful. I hope to be able to maintain the awareness I have built up with regards to a creating a clearer and more collaborative working environment for myself and others around me.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

claire L, 10 Oct 2023

I've never been on a course like this and found it very interesting. I like the way Jeff offered me to use the "Chat" when I find it hard to get things out vocally. Would have been 5 but got a bit lost at the end but will have a better understanding on next session

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Nadine B, 01 Sep 2023

Really valuable skills shared that can be easily applied in a workplace setting. I enjoyed the mix of learning opportunities and breakout sessions were challenging, but a good challenge. I feel like I have taken away some easily applicable skills for the work environment that will hopefully benefit myself and my team.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Greg M, 04 Aug 2023

An enjoyable and interesting session again which opened my mind to a new way of communicating. Overall the session went very well but I felt we ran out of time at the end, with a few questions left unanswered. The session focused on positive feedback but I'd like to know how to give constructive feedback - is there a different style to provide this for example? Also, the Review style is 50/50 so I would like to explore what happens when the feedback receiver doesn't give much feedback to the feedback giver are there any tips on how to approach this?

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Maisie W, 03 Aug 2023

Really interesting, as stated because I am going to be on maternity leave and want to ensure the team stay motivated etc this has been really helpful.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Nadine B, 03 Aug 2023

I found this session about review style especially interesting, as it gave participants the chance to offer a live review to each other. This helped to give an idea of a real-life interaction with a colleague. I also found it useful that this style was explained as being best for when addressing short term changes and should be used as a motivational tool.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]