Sort by:

Academy Class Reviews

Showing 3 star reviews : View all 1579 reviews

Harry C, 05 Oct 2022

I was a bit disappointed with the organisation before the course started. My course in August was cancelled the week before then the rearranged course was changed to online learning (I don't think this type of course works online, and all the group agreed with this). Then the Friday before we started we were told we would be switching design platforms from Sketch to Adobe XD. On the Monday we then received an email saying the trainer could not teach on Wednesday and that day would need to be moved. On the Monday we started the trainer joined Zoom 30 mins late, he said you had put him in the wrong room. The training started very slow, and I feel Domenico isn't very dynamic when presenting slides but he did show his skill and passion once we started to design our app. He is a lot better at the practical side of teaching rather than the theory.
Response : Hi Harry! Thank you for the feedback, I am sorry about the organisation issues, especially at the start of the curse. I will also make sure that the theory part of the teaching will be more enjoyable and dynamic.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Mary W, 29 Sep 2022

Doing this course online with someone in Delhi was not ideal. The audio quality was poor, the video and audio did not sync a lot of the time and the tutor's heavy accent made it difficult to guess what he may have been saying on top of all the audio issues. I am more than happy to have an instructor with an accent (of course!) but this just made it extra difficult when he sound was patchy, and the course content was very technical so it was imperative that I heard every word. The instructor was obviously very knowledgable and very pleasant/polite and patient with me, but I felt the way the material was presented could have been better - I would have like to have known before the class started what was going to be covered each day - there was no programme shared with me before or during. I am still waiting on the course notes that were promised to me as well. We also had a lot of technical difficulties with downloading certain pieces of software, and spent much time trying to get around these difficulties. I understand that the pandemic has meant that lots of courses are now online, but I found this course quite difficult to follow due to the audio difficulties. Sometimes it was fine, but too often I couldn't hear what was being said and that was very frustrating.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Anna K, 09 Aug 2021

In general I would say the course was very informative and gave us a lot of new information. The instructor was very knowledgeable and very patient with us However for me it was lacking the "after training day" materials relating to what we exactly did on that day. I would like to practise the same things in the evenings, trying to draw what we draw during the day. Even though we got the general course materials I would appreciate those exact tasks we did while on the course and maybe additional practice exercises for the evenings for those who wanted. I also felt that our instructor, who was very experienced, made assumptions that we always knew what he was talking about :-)
Response : Hello Anna, thank you very much for the constructive feedback, this is a great advice , will be something for us to work on in the future, appreciate it!

2 people found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Frances W, 02 Jul 2021

Course material was provided after the training had already started and was not followed. This made the learning harder than it could have been for an absolute beginner. The instructor was very knowledgeable however the speed of instructing was a bit too fast at times.

5 people found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Bonita O, 20 May 2021

Tutor was thorough and patient with instructions. As a new student to Sketch up, there is a lot to cover. I believe more clarity on entry level requirements would have been helpful to find the correct course at the right level, both for myself as a customer and Academy class. I would recommend and use tihis company again.

5 people found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

amrit S, 04 Mar 2021

Overall great - I think the mix of abilities for intermediate made it trickier.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

M B, 04 Mar 2021

I really liked the trainer and would love to take a session with her again. The reason for the 3 star and less comments are down to the amount of content the trainer is asked to include in each session. It just felt like too much for many of us by the end of the day. The sessions started at a nice pace where there was time to reinforce learning as we went but then in the afternoon session it just seemed to become a tick off the agenda list where topics were covered but there wasn't the time to use it within the context of an exercise to see if you had really grasped it. It is a shame as the trainer had a lovely way about her, and patient demeanor even with those who seemed to be more challenged than me. I will be doing the advanced which is the next step and hope that the same isn't true. All in all I want to thank Iman for her time and patience she was a good trainer.
Response : Hello, thank you so much for taking your time to give us the feedback, we take your feedback seriously, and will make sure to make the improvement in the future. we looking forward to welcoming you again soon

5 people found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Mauro C, 04 Nov 2020

The course has left me wanting more and I'm not sure if that is because it was virtual rather than in a class room. I found that switching between screens meant that I missed things on one screen and then found I lost them on the other when I moved between them. Were I started the course as a novice I feel I have a much better understanding of Photoshop I feel I'm still missing important parts that I'm not confident in. Am certain that in a classroom I would have ironed out the information. The trainer was without doubt very knowledgeable and had more than enough experience but something was lost in translation and by being on-line.

3 people found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Dubravka V, 18 Aug 2020

This course is not suitable for the beginner. It didn't help our course was cut by 2 hours per day for 4 days, which left 8 hours missing for the training and questions. This then had to be compensated by a breakneck speed of teaching, and for someone who is an absolute beginner left no space for catch-up with the rest of the class, who were all advanced users. As for training materials, I wasn't made aware of any available; saying that, we were promised further help from the trainer with asking questions via email.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Helena R, 06 Dec 2019

London

The classes were slightly one dimensions- Would have been more beneficial to have a variation in teaching style. or have exercises to complete mixed in with the teaching to help test and display our knowledge. I think knowing the objectives each day and the areas in which we were looking to cover would have been more productive. Seeing the end of a project at the start to know why we were carrying out certain techniques to help combime the teached. I was pretty unimpressed with the teaching style, and overall course content flow.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]