Sort by:

The Faraday Centre Reviews

Showing 4 star reviews : View all 1699 reviews

Phill N, 03 Aug 2022

Redcar

Informative course, has given me a good grounding in hv requirements. Very good facilty. Staff informative and very capable of training to all levels of understanding An idea may be to include a qr code to access course critique

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Emma N, 01 Aug 2022

Redcar

Course was very hard to relate to in respect of our LV background and day to day job! Steve was very patient and pleasant given some challenges within the classroom. A very knowledgeable gent who’s interest is relaying and teaching other what they should know. I would have like the course to be a bit more interactive (allowing people to come forward with what they think answers could be).

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Darcy O, 29 Jul 2022

Redcar

Well delivered course.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Galen B, 26 Jul 2022

Redcar

Balance of theory and practical was quite good, and the general course materials were interesting. Some of the sections such as the power system protection had such a large volume of material that had to be rushed through out of necessity that it felt a bit pointless, as there was almost a semester's equivalent worth of work covered in the space of an hour or two and expecting people to take this in meaningfully seems a little ambitious. All the lecturers were very personable and easy to get on with and clearly very knowledgeable in their field. I did feel the delivery of the course could be improved; the pacing for instance was somewhat inconsistent, with some sections rushed through as mentioned above and other points belaboured ad nauseam. I would say a little more credit could be given to the candidates in terms of usage of imagination, in that not every extremely basic and almost obvious point necessarily needs to be qualified with an anecdote or example of why it's important which takes another 10 minutes to go through. In general I felt the course could have probably been completed in 3 days rather than 4-5. Finally the general delivery could have also been a bit more engaging; reading out text from Powerpoint slides verbatim is not the most interesting or effective way to convey information. On the venue side, unfortunately the room we were in was very warm, poorly air conditioned and lacking in natural light and this was extremely conducive to tiredness throughout the day when combined with the large volume of Powerpoint presentations. Partly this was exacerbated by the exceptionally hot conditions that week but it was not a particularly comfortable learning environment. The building itself was nice enough and the food was very good. Coffee could have been a little bit stronger for me :)

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Timothy C, 22 Jul 2022

Redcar

All very good. The venue was okay however the classroom was quite hot and stuffy. Air-conditioning and natural light in the classroom would have helped

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Kenneth H, 21 Jul 2022

Redcar

John is an excellent Lecturer, he had the difficult task of teaching our group, who had different levels of knowledge ranging from me, who had the least pre-course knowledge up through Christian, Anderson, Jack and Lee. John is a very good communicator, checking our understanding each step of the way, he had to impart a lot of information in too short a Time period which is why I scored 4 for the course. For me the course should be spread over 3 or 4 days. All Staff friendly and helpful, thumbs up for the food and facilities. ( hope I passed ).

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Lee C, 20 Jul 2022

Redcar

Overall a very productive course. Excellent trainer with knowledge that helped greatly. Only thing but still very minor, hottest day of the year and not really any air con.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Steven D, 20 Jul 2022

Redcar

Good content

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Andy R, 18 Jul 2022

Redcar

Lecturer very good, venue good, lecturer had plenty of experience and kept the level just right for a refresher course. The course done what it said in the title good refresher.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Mark S, 18 Jul 2022

Redcar

The course venue was very good with a wide range of switchgear to practice on. The lecturer was good and vastly experienced which meant we got additional information and practical experiences, rather than just death by power point. The level it was pitched at was right for a refresher course.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]