Sort by:

IT Audit School - ITG121 Reviews

Christian C, 17 Sep 2020

Mark was amazing. He gave us a lot of example from his past experiences and provided us with a lot of resources/frameworks we can use in our future audits. I highly recommend this course if your interested in starting in IT Audit.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Michael L, 21 Aug 2020

The information presented by Richard was extremely informative and very appropriate for what I wanted to get out of the course. I am new to IT auditing and the course provided me with a good basis on the IT environment.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

James T, 20 Aug 2020

I feel the overall value of this course was tremendous for me. Many of the topics I have been studying are now making much more since thanks to Richard's explanations of the various topics during the course.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Sara K, 18 Jun 2020

Great lesson, great teacher (Richard Tarr). Mr Tarr is very knowledgeable in the IT world and made it very easy to understand the material.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Cory L, 21 May 2020

Some of the items that are not IT auditing specific at the beginning I would drop. Misti has a tendency to be redundant in a lot of their courses, focusing on entry-level auditing in all of there class. yes this can be covered but cover it faster. Shouldn't take a day of class. I don't think this is an instructor issue as it is in all of the MISTI classes. that time could have been used to cover the last two sections in more depth rather than rushed.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Dawn C, 13 Apr 2020

Chicago, IL

This was an online course. It worked out much better than I had anticipated. I would have obviously preferred being in person but this was the next best thing.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Stephen K, 30 Mar 2020

San Francisco, CA

I think the course was much too long for what material was being covered. Sections went into a lot of detail about different aspects of IT systems, but had surprisingly little about actually auditing those systems. The order of the sections was sometimes confusing. For example, the course began with a section on source of criteria for IT audits, followed by a section on basic IT terminology and aspects of IT systems. I would have thought it would make sense to lay the groundwork about IT systems and THEN start talking about how to audit them and what to look for. The instructor was friendly, but he tended to go into long anecdotes and back-and-forth exchanges with a person in the physical classroom that ate up a lot of time. There were 3 people physically in the room and around 9 on the virtual session. However, the chat and ask-a-question features were not used by the instructor and the online participants were largely ignored unless we jumped in with a question. Some of the content didn't seem accurate. For example, at one point the instructor had a lengthy back-and-forth with members of the class about random sampling. He insisted that judgmental samples where he selects cases could be as representative as a random sample. This isn't correct, and goes against the whole point of random sampling. He also thought that audits should be completed within 3-4 months. This could be true of internal compliance audits, but is incredibly unlikely for performance audits. Much of the material seemed to assume that participants were using Red Book and doing internal compliance audits. That's fine, but our office is using GAGAS and it was less relevant to us. I'd suggest specifically advertising the course on internal compliance IT auditing if that's the framework being used.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Beliz C, 12 Mar 2020

San Francisco, CA

Great course! Richard is an excellent trainer. His examples helped us understand the concepts.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Alexandra L, 14 Feb 2020

New York, NY

The instructor provided great real life examples from his own experience which made the materials easier to understand and gave the instructor credibility to what he was teaching. I attended the course virtually, it was difficult to hear questions from those in the room.
Response : Thank you for your feedback and review of the course. We are pleased to see that you had such a positive experience. Thank you very much for letting us know about the difficulty with hearing questions, this will help with microphone placement in future courses.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Gio M, 13 Feb 2020

New York, NY

Great course instructor, great course, great matieral, highly recommended for anyone starting out in IT Auditing.
Response : Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback you have provided. We are very pleased to see you received so much out of the course.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]