Sort by:

One Day Keeper and Student Practicals Reviews

Showing 5 star reviews : View all 12 reviews

Samantha W, 25 Feb 2020

Great enthusiasm and perseverance with students who were a little slow to engage initially. Student feedback was wholly positive and really enjoyed the practical element and learning skills that will be useful for their future careers.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Ryan C, 11 Feb 2020

Mark Kingston Jones generously gave up his time and joined myself and members of my online animal training and behavior membership - Animal Training Academy - in 1 3 hour long webinar presentation. The members of Animal Training Academy are composed of people who work with animals in all capacities and with all species and absolutely loved this content. I first did a SHAPE of enrichment workshop in 2014 and have since created content with Mark and other SHAPE team members. It's my personal opinion that the framework Shape offers and the workshops they have packaged to educate others on this frame work is second to none. Everyone working with animals needs to know this information!

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

David W, 07 Feb 2020

This course is a fantastic opportunity for keepers. To be able learn how to build an array of enrichment devices is a fantastic asset to be able to bring back to your collection. Not only does SHAPE provide all of the tools and materials necessary, but the guidance and instructions were clear and concise making the whole workshop run smoothly and efficiently. I can't recommend SHAPE enough and I would not hesitate to collaborate with them again. Thanks again for everything, Mark!

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Jessica C, 14 Nov 2019

Mark helped me organise and deliver an amazing workshop which was based on Domestic Animals in Zoos. The overall feedback from the delegates included, 98% of delegates enjoyed the practical and theory balance. 24% of delegates said that the enrichment build was their favourite part of the whole workshop! We were able to build a new extension for our Goat World and browse feeders for our Llamas, Alpacas, Donkeys, Pigs and Rabbits! Thank you very much Mark!

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Julia L, 27 Sep 2017

As the organiser of this course, I am very happy to recommend it - this was the first time we went there and the students enjoyed the experience very much! Thanks for everything!

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Jim M, 13 Jul 2017

On behalf of the 100 plus delegates and us all here at ZSL and the BIAZA Animal Behaviour and Training Working group I would like to say what you did at the BIAZA certified enrichment building practical activity last week was nothing short of phenomenal. I am still buzzing from the session it was a real highlight of the two day workshop and I still cant believe we pulled it off! During the planning process it was difficult to visualise exactly how it would look as there were so many variables, including weather and number of delegates, so I am very grateful that you were able to steer the session so successfully. I felt the three organisations (ZSL,BIAZA ABTWG and yourselves) worked together well and I put that down to no-one having an ego and everyone putting the delegates (and animals) first. From the perspective of future events I suppose it would have been better if we knew further in advance what devices and species we were going to work with but that is down to the host institution not you, and it was difficult to plan to far ahead as we only knew the exact amount of delegates two weeks before the event .For future reference I would maybe advise another host to invite you in a couple more times before the actual day to sort out logistics and maybe meet the team leaders, other staff and organisers? We asked all delegates to complete feedback forms before the end of the workshop and the enrichment building session and the learning aims associated with this received 100% positive feedback with every delegate agreeing, or strongly agreeing, that the learning aims were met. thanks for everything Mark, it was a brilliant day! Jim Mackie Chair - BIAZA Animal Behaviour and Training Working Group

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Cathy S, 06 May 2017

It was the most fun I have ever had at an enrichment workshop at a conference or other professional development workshop. The hands on building not only taught you how to make different enrichment mechanisms but was a great team building exercise as well. During the lecture and brainstorming component we came up with ideas that I never would have on my own. I can't wait to implement some of the ideas with the animals I work with.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Fay C, 21 Mar 2017

Mark and Chris were absolutely fantastic instructors on this course. We booked a 1-day Shape of Enrichment course so that our second year FdSc Zoological Management students could learn vital practical enrichment building skills, as well as learn first hand about the practicalities, health and safety involved in designing and implementing enrichment items. I cannot fault the service provided, and we will re-book the course for our students next year, without hesitation.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Terri H, 21 Mar 2017

The course was for making enrichment for wild equids, and designed for Zoo Keepers. The feed back from all 46 delegates was excellent. Mark was really informative and the instructions were really easy to follow. I would recommend any enrichment course that Mark does for any level. Totally brilliant and inspiring day

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Becky C, 21 Mar 2017

I asked The Shape of Enrichment to once again put on a workshop for my students at Howletts as it was such a hit last year. The item of enrichment made was a good idea and most students managed to complete it. Perhaps in the future a slightly longer time would be good, say 60 mins rather than 45 mins if the build is more complex. It was a good day and hopefully some of what they have learnt will appear in future assignments!

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]