Sort by:

MIS Training Institute Reviews

Nandini P, 02 Apr 2020

Denver, CO

I enjoyed learning about key IT concepts. It was impressive that Fred tied the key concepts with the practical examples so that all participants could related to it. Special thanks for encouraging me to ask questions. The questions relating to facilities / location are not answered as the class was virtual.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Tammy H, 02 Apr 2020

Denver, CO

Virtual - No venue/training facility

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Stephen K, 30 Mar 2020

San Francisco, CA

I think the course was much too long for what material was being covered. Sections went into a lot of detail about different aspects of IT systems, but had surprisingly little about actually auditing those systems. The order of the sections was sometimes confusing. For example, the course began with a section on source of criteria for IT audits, followed by a section on basic IT terminology and aspects of IT systems. I would have thought it would make sense to lay the groundwork about IT systems and THEN start talking about how to audit them and what to look for. The instructor was friendly, but he tended to go into long anecdotes and back-and-forth exchanges with a person in the physical classroom that ate up a lot of time. There were 3 people physically in the room and around 9 on the virtual session. However, the chat and ask-a-question features were not used by the instructor and the online participants were largely ignored unless we jumped in with a question. Some of the content didn't seem accurate. For example, at one point the instructor had a lengthy back-and-forth with members of the class about random sampling. He insisted that judgmental samples where he selects cases could be as representative as a random sample. This isn't correct, and goes against the whole point of random sampling. He also thought that audits should be completed within 3-4 months. This could be true of internal compliance audits, but is incredibly unlikely for performance audits. Much of the material seemed to assume that participants were using Red Book and doing internal compliance audits. That's fine, but our office is using GAGAS and it was less relevant to us. I'd suggest specifically advertising the course on internal compliance IT auditing if that's the framework being used.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Emilio L, 27 Mar 2020

I believe if there is 1 more hour for a course like this, where the instructor can demonstrate practical applications to implement, rather than just concepts, that would be great.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Adriana A, 20 Mar 2020

I would like you to include some examples or real cases. I really love MISTI courses and training programs, they are very helpful and high quality, all speakers are prepared and profesionals with expertise, thank you!

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

john l, 20 Mar 2020

San Francisco, CA

josh was an awesome teacher. i was very happy with his real life examples and tailoring it to what we may see in our industries

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Bruce K, 20 Mar 2020

Denver, CO

It was a virtual course (for me). The virtual aspects weren't perfect, due to setting it up last minute, but it worked well, and I don't feel like I missed much by not attending in person.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Debora A, 20 Mar 2020

A good overview for me. new to this area. I normally audit non financial systems, and processes. My background is not in finance.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Mubarak A, 19 Mar 2020

San Francisco, CA

The ITG 241 Course Materials covers alot of areas. Needs more time, at least one more day.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Claudette O, 18 Mar 2020

Thank you.
Response : We are so glad you were able to join the webinar Claudette.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]