Sort by:

18th Edition Wiring Regulations City and Guilds Reviews

David B, 15 Dec 2023

Clay Cross

Could have done with an extra day to get more prepared for the assessment. Andy was extremely knowledgeable, a massive inspiration to all of us in the installation field and extremely wise and supportive of the learners. The course was laid out with the learner in mind, the facilities are neat and tidy and the other staff in centre (Simon Baker) make the experience extremely relaxed and fulfilling.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Steven R, 29 Sep 2023

Clay Cross

John was great and fantastic support. Overall very pleased

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Martin D, 18 Aug 2023

Clay Cross

Simon is a great tutor, although i failed the course, i was told it was a basic Electrical Course and wasn't expecting to be doing 18th edition. Being a novice, found it extremely hard. was the first time I've even seen the regs. That said, as we got through the course i started to understand how to navigate the book, so Simon did an excellent job of getting a complete novice to even start to understand the book. Well done for that Simon 👍

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Janine S, 18 Aug 2023

Clay Cross

I feel the course is about the right length of time if you have some prior knowledge and familiarity with the BS7671 regs book. If however, you have no prior experience, then the course and exam could prove to be very difficult. The tutor Simon Barker did do a very good job in helping all student levels to navigate through the book!

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Kevin R, 17 Aug 2023

Clay Cross

Would probably be better as a 5 day course, as it’s a lot of information to pack into 3 days.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Marc S, 04 Aug 2023

Clay Cross

From the beginning I have been missed my course. I'm a complete beginner in airconditioning, refrigeration, and electrics. I was sold the course as a beginners course which was very far from the truth. I did the 20day course Stating f-gas ,refrigerant ,fault finding , electrical installation and test and inspection complete novice course. Tim Morris was the tutor in ac,refrigerant for the 1st 10 days . I was actually sat I'm the wrong class for the 1st 45 mins ? I was also expecting a lot of practical work (advised by booking staff) unfortunately at max 2.5days then all paper based and there is no way anyone without any experience can absorb all the information and leave knowing what there doing ? My honest opinion is there after money and pass rates . There was a student falling a sleep constantly and tim never said anything even though it was brought to his attention. Baring in mind we was studying explosive gases . The same students practical was absolutely shocking (but was still passed of by tim) I complained to Simon and he was so patronising towards me ? I failed twice and paid to resit again passing by a margin? I walked out the with f-gas certificate but with no actual knowledge which is a very poor way of doing things ? The same guy falling asleep had no experience and passed (absolutely barbaric and dangerous) . 3rd week I turned up on the Monday and was told my course doesn't start till Wednesday. I should have been doing an installing ac unit ,fault finding, circuit checking,basic electrical course , somehow I ended up on an 18th edition course with Andy polkinghorne (I wasn't aware at any point I was on the wrong course as being a beginner and knowing I was due to be doing some electrical) after the 1st day I complained saying it was to hard but was told to stick with it (anyone who as done 18th edition will understand its not for beginner's) On day 2 I complained again saying I don't think I was on the right course was again told it will come not to worry, Andy was very fast to quick I had know idea how to read the book (it's was all paper based) no practical at all . 3rd day I raised the concerns about not being on the right course , with a very poor response from Mic barber and Andy Sharp (Andy actually told me he wasn't the person I needed to speak to) but proceeded to talk to me .the whole course was £4500 a lot of money for the shit show of the course. Very poorly advised and no support. I'm not even attending next week to do the testing and inspection as It's to advanced for anyone with no electrical background . See you in court for a full refund

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Adrian G, 26 Jul 2023

Stirling

Allan is very knowledgeable, experienced and helpful, fact which made the course more "user friendly". Finished the course with a better understanding of the Regulations and a positive result. Well done to everyone!

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

philip r, 08 Jul 2023

Clay Cross

More brilliant instruction from the technique learning trainers. Thanks Andy

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

philip r, 08 Jul 2023

Clay Cross

More brilliant instruction from the technique learning trainers. Thanks Andy

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

NATHAN L, 07 Jul 2023

Clay Cross

Andy was a fantastic and very knowledgeable guy. Thank you for helping me pass mate.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]