Sort by:

LRQA Reviews

Showing 1 star reviews : View all 3372 reviews

Michael H, 14 Dec 2018

I was unable to complete the course, due to it being over prescribed; they could only allow for 12 people on the course and 13 turned up, I gave my place up, as others had travelled some distance

1 person found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Tim S, 09 Nov 2018

The course handouts were simply a repetition of the powerpoint overhead slides which were shown. It would have been better if real world examples had been given. I am still bemused by ISO45001 and the need for it in our particular organisation, apart from being told it is something we need.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

David C, 21 May 2018

This was not a good course.. The trainer had not bothered to learn about The Engineering Council as an organisation and therefore was unable to make any meaningful observations about challenges we might face in implementing the standard, While this can be difficult, some effort would have been appreciated here, after all we are the customer. His personal training style was very dated and geared more towards demonstrating how much he knew rather than trying to transfer knowledge in a form that would help us. He failed to ask anyone in the room what their role was and how they engaged with ISO in their day-to-day work. Instead we had lots of information about himself and his own career. His approach, in getting people to read out bits of the standard, was almost insulting and again, geared more towards showing how much he knew about the standard. What was clearly needed was an overview to help us to understand mandatory requirements and also guidance/best practice. These are distributed throughout the standard and surely the obvious approach is to pull out the relevant areas for discussion. There was no group work and no 'thinking exercises' for delegates. He presented various business operational models that were over-complex, badly presented on flip-charts and overall unhelpful to the discussion. His personal style was grating and at times rude. I could go on, but I think the point has been made - very, very disappointing.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Nicola O, 26 Feb 2018

Birmingham

Unsure if we booked the wrong course, but I found it to be more of a refresher training on ISO 13485 rather than focusing on the changes in the latest standard which we hoped to receive.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

E B, 06 Oct 2017

Course lacked structure and depth of content. Trainer had subject knowledge but few training and communication skills.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Marcin L, 13 Jul 2017

London

Overall a waste of time.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Lisa M, 07 Jul 2017

London

The tutor didn't meet the objectives - the course was very anecdotal from his perspective. There were a couple of candidates who's first language wasn't English - they struggled to follow the content in places. Too much focus on quoting section references from the guideline - it was all just words for the first 2 days. Too much time wasted on 2008 standard, everyone was new to the role and wanted 2015 guidance. Exercises were not relevant - we did ask how one was relevant, we were told he'd explain later. The purpose of the test should have been explained first, so it had more meaning. Handouts were given after discussion - notes couldn't be added to relevant sheets, even though we continually requested them up front. He continually picked up one girl for taking notes, saying - I have a handout for this. He should have given it out first. I feel the course tutors should be assessed, not everyone has the same learning styles. I felt lost for the first 2 days, day 2 was all sat down in a room listening - very little focus on engaging the group. The tutor is obviously very knowledgeable on the material - but struggles making it relevant.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Peter A, 19 Jun 2017

Newcastle upon Tyne

The course contained information very relevant to my needs. The trainer was excellent. The amount of information provided was ludicrous for a period of 4.5 days. The schedule for Tuesday to Thursday was far too ambitious to permit effective learning. There was not enough time for consolidation. After a 10 hour day the evening work was difficult to complete so I got up early in the morning when I felt much more able to think. By the end of the course I felt exhausted. What I have 'learned' is at present a jumble of incoherent facts. Hopefully this situation will improve when I have more time to review the course materials at my own pace. For the reasons given above I am unable to recommend this course.

1 person found this review helpful. Did you?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Caroline T, 07 Dec 2016

Reading

I found the course content to be basic. Slides pointed out the differences in wording however little context was given around the differences or how to meet the updated requirements. Some of the other attendees did not seem to understand the current (2012) version of the standard which meant that time was not effectively used and group discussions were not conducive to understanding the updates to the standard. The pre-course information was incorrect (wrong building) causing a delay in the start of the training. Delegate notes did not match the slides in places. My personal objective was to check that we were on the right track with our transition plan. From the training, I believe we are on the right track however I did not learn anything extra from reading and performing a gap analysis on the standard by myself. I found the trainer to be focussed on 9001 updates rather than 13485. The trainer at times changed the subject rather than answering a question or drawing a conversation to a close. The trainer read from the slides and would then sometimes question whether a clause had in fact been updated. The trainer was very friendly and accommodating which helped make the training run smoothly.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

aidan m, 25 Apr 2016