Sort by:

Hose and Rope Workshop Reviews

Marie P, 04 Apr 2019

Really enjoyed the whole experience. Knowing that the skills we developed were going to be useful as we built really cool things for rescued monkeys. It was incredibly rewarding to see them use what we built. I’ll definitely be using the skills I learnt for future projects.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

evangelos a, 25 Mar 2019

Mark was thorough and very well organised with the entire group. He was very interactive and the students and myself included gained lots of skills by completing the training. Lakeview is also great and the owners of the sanctuary were also very helpful. A great training session and looking forward in doing this again next year!

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Amy L, 15 Mar 2019

Loved the trip. Day 1 we learnt a lot of theory and learnt how to make firehose enrichment and rope splices. Day 2 we got let loose on a macaque enclosure to design it how we liked! I thought the course was well planned as we used the training from Day 1 and put it in to practise on Day 2, so the course flowed well. Mark was always willing to help out and answer any questions we had, a really lovely and experienced/knowledgable man! Would definitely reccommend!

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Abbie , 15 Mar 2019

Mark was lovely and made sure we were all on the right track and learning different skills. I learnt many things such as different types of knots, the health and safety risks of enrichment and DIY skills. Mark has a lot of experience and it shows through his lectures and practicals. I will definitely be taking these skills into the work place, thank you!

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Kirsty A, 15 Mar 2019

Although very cold and rainy, Mark made the entire experience extremely enjoyable! We are already planning more training sessions for the near future!

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

camila R, 15 Mar 2019

Frances C, 30 Oct 2018

I found the course to be extremely instructive and the instructors were welcoming, relaxed, patient and informed. The only negative point is that I feel the last section was totally unplanned and threw us completely in at the deep end. To be given an empty enclosure and told to furnish it for the lemurs in under two hours with very little other guidance was just too much. It left some of us pressured, panicked and struggling to know what to do. Going from doing a few basic splices and knots in the morning to this in the afternoon was a leap too far. Time was wasted as a result and we did not get to fully practice some of the core skills that we had learned in the morning session. If we had been given even a modicum of structured direction, I am sure that we would have achieved so much more. This course was to learn very specific skills which were almost forgotten by the magnitude of the task at hand. Having said all of that, I did enjoy the day and would attend another Shape of Enrichment course if suitable.

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]

Catherine W, 29 Oct 2018

Had a great time and learned lots of new skills! Would 10/10 reccommend to anyone

Helpful review?   Yes   No

[ Inappropriate review ]